Sketches!


Completed a portrait sketch (2 days ago)!

Here it is!

Image

Yup, I spent a few days working on this. The challenges I’ve come across while making this were, firstly, making the skin look less like stone and more like skin. This was achieved via very soft smudging of the sketch. I made her hair, very nicely (really!) but then had a better idea of a hat and so…this.

Here’s another shot of it:

Image

Want even more details on it? well, you can see them on my Google+ page at https://plus.google.com/110691827763571631843 or I’ll just paste the post here for you.

I’m not a portrait artist, and haven’t been sketching portraits for a long long time (years) . After learning new methods in creation of art both digitally and traditionally, I thought that it was a time to revisit portrait sketching; Hence I started off and created this.
________________
Completed in a few days, this is still not officially titled, so suggestions for a title are welcome. 🙂
In this, the light source is from the whole right side of the paper. Hence, I added  details to only one side of here face, the other side is glowing brightly, thus, details are hidden.

I especially wanted to practice ‘realism’ in sketching with this; wanting to achieve photo-realism in sketching, I posit that this is a step towards the right path. If I did something wrong in this artwork, then please do critique constructively.

So this apples here too, suggest a title and critique if you must, but critique constructively…

And some closeups:

Image

Image

And If you can’t scan the QR Code, then here’s what it’s supposed to say http://www.redbubble.com/people/zodiarkdarkja

Ciao for now…

5 responses to “Sketches!

Leave a Reply

