Portraiture – The Practice work


When I was younger ( 15 -16?), and didn’t really take art and the ‘enthusiasm’ that came with it seriously; I stayed away from making portraits. It was a time when It was hard for me to manage the complexities of creating hands or toes, still I could make faces and correct body proportions.But was far off for creating a realistic skin tone.

And coming to the now, I see that creating a skin tone that resonates with life and ‘energy’ might be one of the many aspects of art that differentiate artists. Quite, yesterday was it when I stumbled upon a very very inspiring artwork by an unmentioned artist in that post. Here: Image
In this artwork, I see how the artist has applied his/her mastery of tonal variations. It might be devoid of ‘skin tones’, but I see that one’s experimentation of painting a rather metallic tone does indeed work very well.
——
Well, here a complete painting ( be uploaded later), this is how it  formed:
edsfvwdf2
The trace and the ‘base’ of colors, notice how bright and plastic-like it feels in this?
__________________________________
cats3few

As I do love a wee bit of abstract qualities in all of my artworks, here the ends of the hair sharply blend with the background ( or negative-space). The skin is better now, finally adjusting the brightness and saturation to a value that agrees with the realistic qualities to be added in later stages  and also the unsaturated-ness in this seems to promote importance of personality ( the poker-face expression matters too ).
______________________________________
catsfsegvesgvesf

And now finally the addition ( or illusion) of micro-pores ( which adds the semi-transparent qualities of skin), giving it a more ‘oily’ than dry feel. ( I unknowingly stumbled on this very important bit of information, if it was not for a tutorial on the internet, It might have had taken me much time to figure this out)

Leave a Reply

